The Louisville District website ( is moving to the Great Lakes and Ohio River Division website ( This website is scheduled to be decommissioned on July 15, 2024. Please update all saved links to

Illinois Coal Basin

The Louisville District encompasses 20,000 square miles of the Illinois Coal Basin and includes portions of southwest Indiana, western Kentucky, and southeast Illinois.

If you have any questions or need more information pertaining to the Illinois Coal Basin please contact the Newburgh Regulatory Field Office at (812) 853-0472.