Mining Information

 Louisville District regulates those mining activities that involve the placement of fill material into "waters of the U.S." There are two coal basins located within the Louisville District Regulatory Boundary, the Illinois Coal Basin and the Appalachian Coal Basin. For more information on a particular basin choose from either the Illinois Coal Basin or Appalachian Coal Basin in the menu to the right.

District Permitting Process

Kentucky Pre-Application Coordination Process for Coal Projects

Joint Surface Coal Mining MOU

Coordinated Review and Processing Procedures (Feb 2005)

Nationwide 21 Suspension Information

Annoucement of Nationwide Permit 21 Suspension in Appalachian Region (June 17, 2010)

Corps Headquarters Information on the Decision to Suspend Nationwide Permit 21

Public Notice for the Suspension of Nationwide Permit 21 in the Appalachian Region of Kentucky, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia (June 18, 2010)