US Army Corps of Engineers
Louisville District

Office and Visitor Center

                                        

 

The Visitor Center is a must see facility and is at the heart of Green River Lake. Located close to the Dam, the Green River Lake Visitor Center was built in 1972 as the US Army Corps of Engineers Louisville District’s first Interpretive Center and was upgraded in 1978 to house the Corps Office staff. Today, the Visitor Center is a big attraction to tourists, locals and school groups due to its educational exhibits and helpful staff. Thousands of people each year enjoy touring the Center and taking in the exhibits which include: Native American artifacts from the area, a live turtle display, water safety display and the big 1500 gallon fish aquarium. Visitors can also view a movie about Green River Lake in the theater which is located right in the Visitor Center. Just outside, visitors can tour The Atkinson Griffon Log house which was used as a civil war hospital, have a picnic or take in one of the many hiking trails. The Center is also a one stop shop to get information and brochures on all there is to do at Green River Lake and the surrounding area. So, on your next visit to Green River Lake, make it a point to stop by the Visitor Center and learn all that Green River Lake has to offer.

To see a virtual tour of Green River Lake campgrounds, recreational areas, and other facilities click here.